Creating Paper Roses – Technique #1 (Using Patterned Petals and securing with Elmer’s Glue)

I have been looking into all the various ways to create flowers using paper.  There are so many ways to do this that it’s almost overwhelming!  So I am posting a few different sets of instructions with different techniques, tools and results.  I haven’t gotten time to test these yet so bear with me and let me know if you try them before I do!!







Step 1: Gather Supplies and Tools


Supplies and tools for this craft are very minimal.

Paper

Scissors

Glue

Pen, pencil or marker

Clamps (if available)

English: This is a paper bag from Victory Supe...

English: This is a paper bag from Victory Supermarkets (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Paper can be construction paper, copy paper, old book pages, gift backs, gift wrap, scrapbook pages, newspaper,English: This is a paper bag from Victory Supermarkets (Photo credit: Wikipedia) brown paper bags…. Etc. Tissue paper is not recommended.

Step 2: Draw Various Parts on Paper






After some practice you can skip outlining the pieces and just cut them out.

Shown are some designs you can use to begin with. As you can see, each individual shape is quite simple. Draw if necessary by following the picture shown.  Try to maintain size relationships.

Step 3: Cut Petals and Leaves for your Rose


To make one rose you should have cut out a few leaves (2 or 3) and 7 petals (3 outer pedals and 4 inner petals)

Step 4: Fold and Burnish Outer Petals




Step 5: Glue Outer Petals Together.


The three outer petals are glued together to make the base of the rose.

Step 6: Proceed to Inner Petals






Here, three or four concentric circles are wound or wrapped into cone shapes. You should have 3 or 4 different sizes of circles.

Step 7: Glue Inner Petals to Outer Petal Base


Having glued three or four cones together, we can now glue them to the base.

Step 8: Add Leaves




I add two or three leaves to the bottom of the rose.  The leaves are cut out and the edges are serrated by making cuts along the edges of the leaf.

Step 9: Arrange Rose, or Roses as Desired


The above technique for creating paper roses was adapted from an Instructable and all photo credit goes to the Instructable(Unless otherwise notated in photo caption):
<http://www.instructables.com/id/How-To-Make-Paper-Roses/?ALLSTEPS>


Enhanced by Zemanta

Hi, I'm Stacy! I'm an Über Geek! Also a Mom, Artist, Craftsman, Writer, Fixer of all Things Broken, Caregiver! Professionally I am also a Notary, Certified Notary Signing Agent, Mortgage Banker (Licensed Loan Originator), Certified QuickBooks Bookkeeper, Small Business Consultant and Small Business Owner! Some call me "Malibu Ninja", "The Spiller", "Spacey", "Angel" or "Turbo"; Around family I answer to "Stace", "Ra-Stacy", "Susie", "Sue-Stacy" or "Hey You" but in all reality my name is Stacy Price (like The Price is Right). I list out a bunch of titles or labels (above) in a feeble attempt to describe myself but, I am much more than those labels.. First and foremost, I'm a Mom to Jamison, an amazingly intelligent 7 year old who astounds me every day with his wit, charm and outlandish smarts. He is in 2nd grade this year and is growing too quickly for my taste! I am human, I live on earth, I have a complex and often scattered mind with far too many thoughts running, jumping and screaming at the same time (ADHD, OCD or maybe some other acronym??)! I have lived an interesting life so far, learned many skills and even more lessons, mostly the hard way. I have earned my stripes and all my battle scars, I wear them proudly. I have plenty of good stories to tell and I undoubtedly will acquire many more in the colorful years ahead. People either hate me or they love me, not many fall in between. I am like the tazmanian devil, hard to handle! I am opinionated, expressive, artistic, loud and proud! Each day I will be bold, sometimes offensive but I will always be myself and my freak flag will be flying high until the day I die! Bragging rights I worked with a whole department full of Rocket Scientists (LITERALLY) and held my own intellectually (learned quite a bit too!) at the University of Washington Aeronautical & Astronautical Department of Engineering! I was told I could never have children (due to health problems) although it was risky and a huge challenge I survived having my son who is the most wonderful gift anyone could ask for!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Crafts, DIY Projects, Flowers, Girly, Giving New Life to Old Stuff, Paper, Repurpose
One comment on “Creating Paper Roses – Technique #1 (Using Patterned Petals and securing with Elmer’s Glue)

Leave a comment